Hong Kong 

 

Image result for welcome to hong kong sign in airport

Image result for hong kong airport transportation

Image result for vertical escalator in hong kong

img_7205-1 “LKF”

 

Starbucks”basic white girl” stop

 Junk Boats, their so beautiful

img_7232

Hong Kong….I remember when I was younger and my mother would tease me and say, “where do you think your going Hong Kong?” Well 30 years later I made the journey here and it was an experience I won’t forget.

 I boarded my United Airlines flight to make the 15 hour journey from Washington D.C. to Hong Kong. The first leg of my Southeast Asian Tour. (More to come  on the rest of the trip that included, Hanoi & Ha Long Bay in Vietnam). Its been almost 2 years since I’ve been here but every memory made in this beautiful place is easy to pluck from my memory bank.

One thing I noticed when I landed was how clean the airport was, I did not expect that at all. I purchased a metro pass and hopped on the train and headed into the city where vertical escalators awaited and where people took the motto, ” work hard play hard” to another level.  LKF “Lan Kwai Fong” is known for dining, drinking, and clubbing. I spent my first night in this area of Central.

When making dinner reservations I highly recommend Mama San . It was amazing, I had dinner here on my first night. You can sit at a table that overlooks the streets of HK, sip on a cocktail and let your eyes wonder over the menus that include Chinese, Indonesian, Indian, Malay, Singaporean, Thai, Cambodian and Vietnamese.  This restaurant had a vibe, mysterious, dark, candlelight everywhere, really the only way to have dinner. I loved it.

As the Chef says “the interior is a feast for the eyes, while the food is a feast for the soul”.

That could not be more true.

 I spent two days wondering the streets in HK before heading off to Vietnam. Hong Kong is beautiful, a city skyline that overlooks the harbor and will take your breath away. It felt a lot like New York City to me. Busy, people everywhere, restaurants galore. The big Buddha you see above is so magnificent, sadly there wasn’t enough time to visit but if you go it’s a must.

More to come on Asia.

Thank you so much for stopping by.

XOXO

Tiffany

img_7513

Leave a Reply

